Header Ads

Jah9: 9mm Vol. 2: Pre-Album Groundings (2016)

Jah9 just started her 'Year of 9' world tour in support of her new upcoming album '9' that will be released on 9/9 by VP Records. On the road, Jah9 releases the 9mm Vol. 2: Groundings in preparation for the arrival of the '9' album that is available for FREE DOWNLOAD

With Jah9's lioness lyrical dexterity and soulful rich production, her authentic spirit shines throughout her latest offering. Vol 2. features original, never-before-heard music including "Unafraid" (a standout track from her upcoming album addressing child molestation) and pays homage to some of Jah9's greatest influencers, both spirtually and musically. 

She incorporates empowering speeches from Haile Selassie I, Nefer Amen Ra Un, Drunvalo Melchezidek, encouraging her listeners not only to journey into higher levels of consciousness, but seek out information and knowledge. She also celebrates some of her most beloved musical inspirations with one-of-a-kind covers of Nina Simone's "Misunderstood" Tracy Chapman's "She's Got A Ticket," Ras Micheal's "New Name," Dennis Brown's "Blood City" and an invigorationg medley of Sizzla Kalonji. 

The 18-track selection features original production from Jah9 and live instrumentation from her band The Dub Treatment including Sheldon Bernard, Janoy Ellis, Omar "Jalanzo" Johnson, Aeion Hoillet, Andrew "Chako" Edwards & Fanso Craig. The collection is mixed & dubbed by Hasani 'Snysh' Williams. This part two installment follows Jah9's 2012 9mm Vol 1: Message Music, a precursor to her debut New Name. 9mm Vol. 2: Pre-Album Groundings is an introduction of what's to come on 9 | 9 | 2 + 0 + 1 + 6 = 9. Her entirely self-produced sophomore album 9is a combination of intellectual rigor, real world activism and lyrical musicality. The album's first single "Humble Mi" is available now on iTunes.


01. Fire Slaughter
02. Avocado *9 Grams Per Serving
03. Marijuana (prod. by Biggy Music)
04. This is NOT a mixtape “K'nife"
05. Listen (prod. by Steam Chalice Records)
06. Drunvalo Melchezidek
07. Humble Mi (prod. by Lost Ark Music / Steam Chalice Records)
08. She's got a ticket (Tracy Chapman cover)
09. Feeling Irie (prod. by VP Records)
10. Feme9 “K'nife"
11. Unafraid (prod. by Shamala Prod)
12. Misunderstood (Nina Simone Cover) (prod. by Steam Chalice Records)
13. Sizzla Kalonji Medley
(prod. by Steam Chalice Records)
14. Bloody City (prod. by VP Records)
15. H.I.M Haile Selassie I
16. New Name (Ras Michael Cover) (prod. by Steam Chalice Records)

17. Ra Un Nefer Amen
18. Outro - 9 "K'nife"

Listen Now:

No comments

Powered by Blogger.